Plastic Dummies: Adults and Infants (! אֲנִי עָצוּבֿ מְאוֹד)

Published by Duncan in the blog Duncan's Blog. Views: 86

C(ardio) P(ulmonary) R(esuscitation)

It's a skill that I need to update on a quarterly basis. Lately I have been thinking about my competency. I have been performing my basic job tasks for close to two decades without failure. Sadly (or stupidly) new elements are added to my job description. I am put into a training class that may be an hour or two hours long. I am then given a test to finish. The results are put into my file and the task is never seen again.
Until it is needed 2 or 3 years down the line. How the heck am I supposed to remember what to attach where? How do I trouble shoot? What am I supposed to look for? What do the words that you are saying even mean? I had an instructor in school who used to yell at the students when they were examining catheters, "CHECK FOR PATENCY." When a student would ask me what it meant (and the instructor heard it) he would bellow out, "It's the state of being PATENT!"
That a**hole instructor got his comeuppance more than once from me. On a note I once wrote, "Patient rent her hospital gown." Rent? He was clueless. I told him that it was the past tense for rend. In another note, I wrote, "Singultus noted." Again he was clueless. He asked a classmate what that was and she said, "Singultus." He said to her, "Yes, I know that. What does it mean?" She said, "It means the patient is hiccuping." He asked her, "How the hell did you know that?" and without a blink she said, "It was on last week's vocabulary test."
I could not breathe life into this stupid dummy on the the 5th floor. Mind you I am 5-7 pounds short of being 200, so when I push down on the sternum (at the xiphoid process rather than at the manubrium), trust and believe the dummy feels it. I got zilch.