Will there be another original music form ever again?

Discussion in 'Music' started by dhs, May 28, 2004.

1. dhs

dhs Senior Member

This is building off my thoughts from another thread, but will there be one? Sure there will be original songs, I'm a musician myself and I've written plenty of songs that are 'original', but my influences are obvious and can be classified. I love music, it is the center of my being, but at the same time I feel its somewhat dead. Classical was done and sense then, beebop, jazz, blues, rock, reggae, country, western, r&b, soul, progressive, rap, skaw, hip hop, electronic, fusion...I know I'm missing many forms- but has it all been doen is my question? I know there will be millions of original artists to come in the future, but what about musical style.

2. WayfaringStranger

WayfaringStranger Corporate Slave #34

yes. take bluegrass for example. bill monroe took old time and crossed it with the blues. then cus he was a mad man, brought it to warp speed, and then you get a new music style. someone will develope something. look at turn tables too, that spawned two new art forms. or when dancehall and ska went reggae. always be new music.

3. mick_jagger_is_so_hi

mick_jagger_is_so_hi Member

Music is always developing and changing although people don't always like these changes.
    The Beatles some people thought 'Were trying and failing to emulate the black sound of rythym and blues and were white pop crap'
    You don't hear many people saying that THESE days!!'

4. dhs

dhs Senior Member

combining two art forms does not equal a new art form. yes it does equal change, but not necessarily new exploration

5. Pressed_Rat

Pressed_Rat Do you even lift, bruh?