Why have a work ethic.

Discussion in 'Personal Development' started by Bilby, Sep 18, 2021.

1. Bilby

Bilby Lifetime Supporter and Freerangertarian Super Moderator

When I was a civilian cook for the army there was a military cook who was exceptionally lazy. It was something he was entitled to. He took a long time to get promoted. Laziness led to a lack of meaningful experience, that led to a lack of expertise that in turn led to a lack of confidence that in turn led to more laziness and so an on going cycle starts.

2. newo

newo Lifetime Supporter Lifetime Supporter

Some people just lack ambition. They put in just enough effort to get by and that's it. Did he do his fair share of the work, or were you constantly having to pick up his slack?

3. themnax

themnax Senior Member

the reason is so you can eat, but what you really need is a consideration ethic, so when you live, you won't be living in hell.
    i don't mean the mythological meta-fate of the inconsiderate, i mean tyranny in the here and now, which is what the dominance of aggressiveness is,
    and the opposite of any meaningful definition of civilization.

also, if we're supposed to be so much smarter then other creatures, why haven't we automated the fundimentals of existence so they won't have to depend upon our sweat?

there's no good reason not to, other then the perspective of some people that imagine it to be a favor to the world to require sweat of others,
    which themself lack the responsible ambition of mind to analyze honestly and see that all this concern with what others think of each other,
    is bringing about the very self destruction of our species.

FritzDaKatx2 and scratcho like this.
  4. Bilby