When did you learn to sew?

Discussion in 'Fashion and Crafts' started by Faerie, Feb 1, 2005.

1. Faerie

Faerie Peachy

I was just wondering when everyone learned to sew? And From who?

I learned probably at about 6... Hand sewing of course... I used to make clothes for my cabbbage patch dolls... I started using a machine at about 11... My mom helped me out.. But most everything i know was self taught.

2. plainjanepatchwork

plainjanepatchwork Member

My mom showed me how to use her machine when I was 19. About a week later I bought my own sewing machine at a garage sale for $20. After that I couldn't stop sewing and basically taught myself everything I know. I started off making clothing for myself and friends. I had just had my son and I really needed a creative outlet. My life became all about Zeke and I needed to do something for myself at that point to keep my sanity. No sleep can drive you a little bonkers ;)

3. kiss_the_sky

kiss_the_sky Member

I am learning it right now :). My mom is helping me, she's really good at it, so I'm really glad she can show me. I do remember one event though, when I was six. My grandmy had bought a new machine but she didn't know how to use it, and I explained it to her, though I had never sewed before. That was kind of funny.

4. peacelovebarefeet

peacelovebarefeet BuRniN oNe...

never... i wish i did.. im gunna make my mom show me...

5. crystalstarr

crystalstarr Word

when i was 5 my grandmother showed me how to hand sew.. did it off and on for years didnt learn to sew with machine tell i was 23 i went to go live with her and she showed me how. My first project on the sewing machine was a long flowy patchwork skirt. Still have it, it kicked ass!

6. TheLizardQueen

TheLizardQueen horny for knowledge

I learned last summer when i starting getting into reconstructing old tees. I bought a book at a used book store for $3, but my mom is giving me a crash course to further teach me.

7. Acorn

Acorn Member