What is the best laptop?

Discussion in 'Computers and The Internet' started by matone, May 30, 2013.

1. matone

matone Guest

I am going to buy a laptop for the first time...any recommendations on what to get in the $500 to 700 dollar range? I don't know much about computers.

2. Brudof

Brudof Member

There's not one best laptop, it depends what you're planning to use it for, budget, etc. PC or Mac? PC is cheaper/better performance overall, but it depends on what you want. Stay away from big stores like bestbuy, futureshop, walmart etc. Lots of good deals online. Try sites like newegg or tigerdirect, they've got great deals and most of the products have hundreds of reviews so you can get an idea of what you're getting before you buy. If you don't feel safe buying it online try to find a local computer shop. I like ASUS laptops.

3. newbie-one

newbie-one one with the newbiverse

I'm by no means an expert on the subject. The 2 cents I would throw in is that unless you need compact size/ portability of a laptop, you can probably get more bang for your buck from a desktop.

4. lively_girl

lively_girl Member

A few questions to help you decide:

1. What do you need it for?
    2. How much do you intend to use it?
    3. How big do you want it to be? If you want to have a bigger screen, you'll need a bigger laptop. If you want to have it with you all the time, everywhere you go, a smaller one might be more practical.
    4. Will you move your laptop around a lot? Some models (usually Pro versions) are sturdier than others.

Other important things:

1. Try the keyboard, make sure you like it.
    2. Once you decide on a few models, check on the internet what people have to say about them.
    3. Buy your laptop from a trustworthy source and observe how the shop assistants handle the laptops. If they treat them roughly, buy your laptop somewhere else.
    4. Some shops offer extended warranty.