Way Back in Time

Discussion in 'Musicians' started by Tyrsonswood, Aug 23, 2021.

1. Tyrsonswood

Tyrsonswood Senior Moment Lifetime Supporter

Back in the stoned age, I went to school to learn guitar building, or Luthiery to be exact. The art of stringed instrument building.

The course was 4 months long and you built one acoustic and one electric. This was starting with raw boards and building the whole instrument from the ground up. If you were fast enough and worked Saturdays you could start a third instrument.

This was my third instrument...

[​IMG]

Sorry for the crappy photo, it's the only one I have and I had to go into the internet archives to get it.

Anyways... Right after I graduated I was hired as their main electric guitar teacher.

So this guitar still exists, sort of. It was flood damaged first, then it was heat/freeze damaged during a house fire. (The fire was during December so after being in the heat it was doused with water and then froze... Not the best for wooden items.) It would take too much work to make it functional again.

The point of this thread is to document some of these guitars I built. Some I've lost, some I still had after the fire (The Burn Victims) and a couple that I just re-acquired from a guy that bought them 15 years ago. I may later document some of my current gear...

tjr1964, MeAgain, boubindica and 3 others like this.
  2. Tyrsonswood

While teaching I was told by the school's owner to "Build the wildest guitars you can" The idea was to show the students something to aspire to, I guess.

The fourth and fifth guitars I built happened at the same time, they are brothers. I don't remember which one got finished first.

[​IMG]

guit06.jpg

Both of these were destroyed in the fire. R.I.P.

3. Tyrsonswood

Number six was this 9 string full hollowbody carved top...

guit05.jpg

Everything is hand carved on this instrument, bridge, tailpiece, wood knobs were even hand shaped. (not turned on a lathe)