Under The Skin

Discussion in 'Sci-Fi Movies' started by Shale, May 17, 2015.

1. Shale

Shale ~

Under the Skin
    DVD Blurb by Shale
    May 16, 2015

Disclaimer:
    I may be quirky in my assessment of movies and even use an axiom, "I enjoy bad movies" when professional critics uniformly pan a movie that I found enjoyable. I guess the flip side of that would be "I do not enjoy good movies," because occasionally I cannot stand a movie that the professional critics rave about. This is why I use the term 'blurb' instead of review - I am not a professional movie critic, just a guy who loves to be entertained by cinema.

While in the video section of Target this week I saw this DVD with a prominent pic on the cover of Scarlett Johansson. I noticed that the movie was released in 2014 and couldn't understand why I never even heard of it, much less not have seen a movie with Johansson (even old grampas get crushes on cute girls). Turns out it was a limited release and also opened on April 4, 2014 the same weekend of Captain America: The Winter Soldier, which I did see and which also had Johansson in it.

[​IMG]
    (Oops, Just noticed Italian Poster. Oh well, it looks like the DVD cover)

So, for $10, the price of a matinee movie I got the DVD, anticipating a nice sci-fi movie with Johansson playing an alien in a hot human body seducing men for her alien intent. Put in the video and for the next hour and forty-eight minutes was bored, somewhat confused and quite disappointed. Within the first quarter-hour I discovered this was a sci-fi art film. You can tell by artsy camera angles, long sequences of no action, just staring while inane everyday activity of surrounding ppl takes place. Oh, and dark overcast, rainy settings, like this one filmed in Scotland.

[​IMG]

This film is rated R because of some discreet love scenes, an attempted rape and full frontal, tho dimly lit male nudity and a nice dimly lit scene of Johansson nude.

[​IMG]