Tell me more about Colorado.

Discussion in 'Colorado' started by jo_k_er_man, Oct 10, 2013.

1. jo_k_er_man

jo_k_er_man TBD

The gf and I have our eyes set on Colorado. Now it's just figuring out where we want to be. Currently we're looking at the FoCo area and possibly outside of Denver but all options welcome. She's finishing up her nursing degree and well I'm a cook. Our main concern is finding her a good nursing job at a hospital that is high paced and has a popular ICU ward. What are taxes like? Any silly costs to residents of Colorado? Cost of living? Any other things I should know? Well aware of the mj laws so save yourself some time explaining that to me.

Also any folks in the FoCo area... What are your thoughts on Cheyenne, WY? No income tax sounds great and it's only 45min from FoCo.

2. *MAMA*

*MAMA* Perfectly Imperfect

Taxes can be pretty brutal in Colorado. The first year I lived there, I was in Glendale, so I was paying taxes for federal, state, and city. It is I big, bustling city with lots to do, and the mountains are near by. I was raised in Cheyenne, so I obviously have an emotional attachment to it. There's still a lot of things to do, especially if you're outdoorsy. I know a handful of people that are unemployed in Denver, but I can't really speak for the area as a whole as far as the job market goes. I know the hospital in Cheyenne is ALWAYS looking for nurses. I used to work there in the pharmacy, and while there is your average amount of hospital politics, it is a great place to work with very competitive pay.

3. deleted

deleted Visitor

Be sure to build an Ark before going there.. ;)

4. FRUITACO

FRUITACO Member