Taken

Discussion in 'New Movies' started by Shale, Feb 1, 2009.

1. Shale

Shale ~

Taken
    Movie Blurb by Shale
    February 1, 2009

I got out to the Cineplex today and on my to see list was Taken, which by the trailers I figured was a Bourne type movie where an ex secret agent is single handedly taking on the bad guys. Yep, it was that and more, with explosions, car chases, unbelievable fight scenes where the bad guys meet a painful torturous death as promised.

Poster "I Will Kill You"
    [​IMG]

The story is about retired CIA agent Bryan Mills (56-year-old Liam Neeson) whose career cost him his marriage to Lenore (Famke Janssen) and estrangement from his daughter Kim (25-year-old Maggie Grace playing 17 very well). Kim wants to go to Europe and daddy needs to consent. He has misgivings, knowing what a dangerous world it is out there but his ex and daughter convince him he's just paranoid and overprotective because of his job. (I know this feeling from when I was a cop. When you see what evil is in the world your heightened awareness can be seen as paranoia).

So, Kim goes off to Paris and guess what? Yep, immediately gets kidnapped for the sex trade. She frantically calls daddy as the abduction is going down and he instructs her on what to do to increase his chances of rescuing her.

Kim before being taken
    [​IMG]

The rest of the movie is daddy going to get his daughter back, using his lifetime of skills to get past the bad guys and the cops. Good ride.

Mad Daddy
    [​IMG]