Swimming

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by machinist, Jun 8, 2013.

1. machinist

machinist Banned Lifetime Supporter

ok so i started swimming for exercise as of a couple days ago. i've been one time. i SUCK at it. im just trying to do the freestyle stroke. i'm hoping i get better with practice hehe. its a lot of coordination involved. don't get me wrong i've been going to the pool since i was a tiny kid, but actually swimming laps is a different ballgame.

2. I'minmyunderwear

I'minmyunderwear Newbie

yep. swimming is easy, but swimming right is hard. especially if you were self-taught. those kids that learned through swim lessons seem to do it the "correct" way naturally, but i struggle my ass off to even come close. yet i still beat the pants off most of them in any speed or strength of swimming test i've done, so i don't worry too much about it.

3. LetLovinTakeHold

LetLovinTakeHold Cuz it will if you let it

I love swimming, but I hate pools.

Plus I suck at it. I can't go very long. Cliff jumpin is my favorite.

Jump.
    Swim to shore.
    Repeat.

4. SpacemanSpiff

SpacemanSpiff Visitor

i like to sit in a pfd and just use my arms lol

its definitely good exercise

ive not been out yet ..this year is too cold we still need more hot days to warm up the lakes

5. machinist

machinist Banned Lifetime Supporter

3rd day in the pool, and my first 'beginning' swim class. it went well. its free through the school. the instructor is going to make a training plan for me. she could tell i was in shape and she said my swimming looked good. she was like "what have you been doing besides swimming?" lol i still lose my form after like 30 minutes though. i lose my timing on breathing and it just turns into a mess, but thats just because my mind and body isnt used to it yet so with some practice that'll get better

6. Death

Death Grim Reaper Lifetime Supporter