Speech Writing

Discussion in 'Writers Forum' started by cutelildeadbear, Jan 14, 2005.

1. cutelildeadbear

cutelildeadbear Hip Forums Gym Rat

Does anyone have any tips that they can share with me. this is the first time I've taken any sort of communications course. Last Wednesday was my first class and I already have an assignment of giving a 3 to 5 minute speech on someone "inspiring" whatever the f that means. But he hasn't yet gone over what exactly we are supposed to do. He told us not to write it down. He said that we could use note cards, but not to write out or memorize an entire speech. Makes sense, but is there anything else I should be doing.

Also, I'm going to post this question elsewhere to get as much feedback as possible, but I need help coming up with a topic. I'm a pretty strong writer and even better bull shitter, but I cannot for the life of me think of anyone inspiring. I mean it should be someone who inspires me, because that would make it easier to talk about. The prof. said it could be someone famous, or someone that we just know personally. Once I get this obstacle out of the way, I should be able to ramble on for 5 minutes. Any suggestions? Thanks.

Jen

2. White Scorpion

White Scorpion 4umotographer

Come on, dear, there's millions. You're not trying. Don't be lazy. Now let's see: Jesus, Buddha, Mohamed, Gandhi, JFK, Lincoln, Martin Luther King, Muhamad Ali, Marx, Nietzsce, Plato, Aristotle, Alexander, Napoleon, Galileo, Newton, Leonardo, Archimedes, Ramses II, St.Frances of Assissi, Picasso, Confucius, Sho Tzun, Bruce Lee, Nelson Mandela, Mother Theresa, Freud, Patton, Romel, John Lennon, Janis Joplin, Chairman Mao, Julius Caesar, Constantine I, Hemmingway, Yuri Gagarin, Neil Armstrong, Malcolm X, Davy Crocket, Bart Simpson, Walt Disney, Marilyn Monroe, Marlon Brando.
    Choose one that interests you, do a search on the web, write some notes, make thesis, get award. Good luck!

3. cutelildeadbear