Road trip costs

Discussion in 'Camping/Outdoor Living' started by backtothelab, May 25, 2004.

1. backtothelab

backtothelab Senior Member

I'm sure this is not the right forum, but i think it fits it best.
    A friend and I are planning on going on a road trip soon, and i was wondering how much it'll cost. It's gonna be bare, living in the back of a jeep, or maybe a van, eating pretty much whatever we can find, probably soup, stolen food stuffs and ramen noodles. Is gas really that much? I calculated that if i get 26 miles to the gallon, and travel 1000 miles using gas that costs 2.50 a gallon, it's only goona be about 90 dollars. That is, ninety dollars every 1000 miles. It's seems a bit too good to be true. Does this seem right? I'm not really good with math, so i don't know. Can anyone give any tips for two people living out of a duffel bag and a jeep cheroke.

2. Cornball1

Cornball1 Member

Remember Murphys law. Whatever can go wrong will go wrong. Allow for extra on gas just to be safe. Also set some aside for oil or minor break downs. I have a jeep and it does have a few problems form time to time.

3. mother_nature's_son

mother_nature's_son Member

If you are traveling 1000 miles, getting 25/26 miles to the gallon, you are going to need 40 gallons of gasoline. For $2.50 a gallon, you are looking at a total of $100. This is if you are getting 25/26 miles to the gallon on every mile out of the 1000, which I would not bet on. I'd say take $125 - $150 for gas to be safe. You aint gonna go about gettin that shit for free if you run out. ;)

4. backtothelab