Question for singers

Discussion in 'Performing Arts' started by Any Color You Like, May 25, 2007.

1. Any Color You Like

Any Color You Like Senior Member

I am a guitarist but I want to learn sing well. I'm already able to sing quite well in tone as I have a relatively good ear but I don't have a very strong volume. If any singers could give tips/exercices to increase the volume of my voice it would be nice.

Thanks

2. Gisabelle

Gisabelle Member

Do lots of voice warm ups/exercises with the piano or something if you can just going up and down the scale. You may be able to find some examples of exercises on the internet maybe? I'd do some searches. But yeah, that is one way to make your voice stronger and to have more volume.

3. Riggs

Riggs Banned

I sing, but not a very good teacher. Turn up the volume when you listen to your CD's at home. Try to sing that way. Also, bring it up from the rib cage. I remember they had us laying on the floor doing our exercises. If I can remember more, I'll let you know.

4. trekker

trekker Intrepid Traveler

I find that singing with my mouth open wide increases the output of the song. I brings the music out from the chest. Get lots of air in your lungs and let it out with your singing. That's all I got. Cheers.

5. guitarman

guitarman Member

You might want to invest in some singing lessons. Dont spend more than ten bucks though it isn't worth it. You will find after your first lesson or so that are drastically improving.

6. zilla939

zilla939 Thought Police Lifetime Supporter

guitarman - i have taken voice for years at $50 an hour and it has transformed me from a mediocre vocalist into a professional singer... it really depends on whom you are taking from. i learned classical voice - good technique is priceless - and it translates into every genre of singing.