New To Dreadlocks, Salon Butchered My Hair?

Discussion in 'Dreadlocks' started by Yuzanaki, Jun 21, 2016.

1. Yuzanaki

Yuzanaki Members

Hi, I'm new to dreads and just had my done at a salon (Which I'm starting to regret) they did the back comb and twist method it's been two weeks and they feel like they're falling apart, not knotting well and generally feel like they're just twisted hair held with wax, they felt like thin candles until I took a hair dryer and some paper towels to get some of it out. I've been palm rolling every morning after waking up and wearing a dread cap (Loose hat I might add) to keep them clean, but I feel like my early journey has already begun and doomed to fail, I'm just wondering if anyone can shed some light on these, should I continue and ride it out and continue going to the salon, or pull them out? They initially used beeswax but I swapped to knottyboy, I haven't washed them yet when I ask for advise all they tell me is patience and lots of wax, I'm more than happy to be patient but don't want my potential dreads to be ruined so early on. I've attached some pictures, I also have some dreadlock shampoo bar but havent yet used it. I haven't palm rolled them today yet.
    I don't know much about dreads and put my faith in the salon which from what I've read seems to of been a bad decision, is my hair expected to be this way after 2 weeks or am I wasting my time? If they're bad are they salvageable? I feel like I should wash them, get some of the wash out leave the roots cause they're kinda knottty and twist and rip the rest of the hair.
    http://imgur.com/ZRefGHs
    http://imgur.com/eoaIoBK
    http://imgur.com/MCEEVI4
    http://imgur.com/EaPAAQm

2. soulcompromise

soulcompromise Member HipForums Supporter

Lookin' good! I would still keep going to that salon. Perhaps it requires more than one visit!

3. Reverand JC

Reverand JC Willy Fuckin' Wonka