Need help with, well, just men? One in particular...

Discussion in 'Relationships' started by sb12aa, May 30, 2013.

1. sb12aa

sb12aa Guest

Hi! Ok this is a bit weird, I've never done this before but I just wanted to get some advice. I broke up with my boyfriend of nearly 5 years in March and I'm pretty happy with that decision. We weren't right for each other. I'm turning 21 in October. Just before we broke up I met this guy at Dubai airport, we were on the same flight back to the UK and it was delayed by 2 hours. He suggested we go get a drink at the airport's bar and we were there just talking till we had to board. And we've kept in touch since then. I don't know if this is a big age gap, but he's 33. He's very handsome and I find him really attractive, and I was hoping to have a kind fling with him, nothing serious. But I've got two problems. 1) He lives in Bristol and I live in London which are about 2 or 3 hours apart. He said he comes to London quite often, and he did come once but I couldn't see him, much to my frustration. So I can't really suggest a casual coffee or something. 2) Because I was in a relationship for so long, I have no idea how to talk to a guy I'm interested in. I over think everything I say and always wonder if he might find some stuff I say or do childish.

Basically I'm driving myself insane. Some advice would be great! How to talk to him? How to suggest to meet up? Just what the hell do I do? Sorry for the looong entry. Thanks!

2. lively_girl

lively_girl Member

Just make sure he's not married before you start something.

3. sb12aa

sb12aa Guest

Not married, no girlfriend. I wouldn't ever go there if there was.

4. Just_a_woman

Just_a_woman Member

How to talk to anyone: just be yourself. Say no when you think you should and don't do things you don't wanna do. And when you do want something, let the other person know. If you think there is a misunderstanding, make things clear immediately. Never assume people can read your mind.