Need help with soil questions.

Discussion in 'Grow Room Pix and Journals' started by Whoyoucantsee, Dec 21, 2008.

1. Whoyoucantsee

Whoyoucantsee Member

Ive grown plants indoors before, the most half assed way immaginable, and very likley the wong way a couple years ago.

My setup was 5gal buckets with the run of the mill miracle grow plant starter mix, some mid seeds and four rows of 4' flourecent "vegitation/aquarium' lights and watering with distilled water and bloombooster, the green crystal flowering booster.

I first bought one of those seedling starter greenhouses for $3 at hardware store, it comes with a black base, clear housing, and 6 pucks that expand with water to start the seedlings. After a few weeks i transplanted the seedlings into the miracle grow soil 5gal setups under the lights.

all where female luckily, but low yeilds, only about an ounce wet weight between 2 plants at first bud, cliped them then they died. I know im a total newbie at this stuff, and only learned from hearsay.

what would be the best soil mixture from start to finish for growin any mj seeds? i am looking for that earthy deep musky smoke from the buds. the kind of taste you get from those panama weeds or mexican dar buds. real stoney and earthy, really beefy plants.

2. klondike_bar

klondike_bar Senior Member

a good soil is a mixed soil. get peat moss, planting soil, worm castings, bone/blood meals, then mix it all together to form a nice rich mixture.

PS: dont use this mixture on seedlings. the nutrients in the soil will burn them easily. when using a nutrient-ed soil in adults, you need to reduce the ferts used at watering

3. Rocklobster

Rocklobster Senior Member

A good loam based number 2 soil with added john innous for me. Mix 4 soil to 1 perlite and a half vermiculite. Never buy soil marked as for seeds or cutting as it contains ferts your plant wont use, potting on soil or multi purpose ok but make sure it dont contain any twigs or branches.

4. buffoonman