My Renewed Exercise Discipline

Discussion in 'Deadbear's Gym' started by Shale, May 9, 2014.

1. Shale

Shale ~

Exercise
    By Shale

May 8, 2014

First off, let me say I am a lazy procrastinator. Some ppl think I am pretty energetic and have endurance because I ride a bicycle 6 miles to work every day, rain or shine, cold or steamy hot. But, I don't have a car so the bike is my necessary means of transportation and my not owning a car is partly by design because it forces my lazy procrastinating ass to get on that bike every day.

I also do a little upper body exercise with15-pound free weights since I do not work in construction or in a warehouse throwing 50-pound sacks of stuff onto pallets all day. I have been using these same light weights for years, since the mid 1980s and once thot of increasing to 20 pounds but decided at my age it might cause more problems with my joints (I have had bouts of tendonitis in my elbows and bursitis in my right shoulder).

However, this exercise regimen has become merely a maintenance to keep me toned. Years ago I heard that one can do just one set of reps but to push it to the max. At the time 120 butterflies, 100 presses and 60 curls was pushing it. But in my laziness, I stopped pushing further and settled into that number and by procrastinating I did this about 2 or 3 times a week instead of every other day. In my mid 60s my excuse was that my age prevented me doing more and this was confirmed by the pectoral muscle ache the third day after exercising.

I have also been doing abdominal exercises for years because of lower back problems. I do not do sit-ups but lay flat on the floor, legs bent with knees up and push my back flat to the floor. Try it, it really does stress the abs. Also, in addition to my daily bike riding I have been jogging to increase bone mass since breaking my leg in 2005.

[​IMG]