My FIRST PAP SMEAR!!!!

Discussion in 'Love and Sex' started by randomuserhaha, Jan 19, 2005.

1. randomuserhaha

randomuserhaha Member

Ok I'm due for a pap smear tomorrow. I've never done it before. I'm a bit scared. If anything goes wrong I won't know because it's my first. Please tell me what to expect tomorrow. *cry*

2. peacefuljeffrey

peacefuljeffrey Senior Member

I don't know if you're a virgin or not -- so I don't know if you're used to people poking at your vagina... :p But while I'm not a girl, I understand that they're going to be taking some sort of swab or something from your cervix or uterus... They'll use a speculum to hold your vagina open, and I think sometimes the complaint is that those are cold. Your biggest discomfort will probably be from having your feet up in the stirrups and your vulva exposed wide for a guy (or woman -- is your doctor a woman?) you don't know to examine. That'd likely magnify any real actual physical discomfort. But you know, like giving blood, sometimes there's a little pain involved in medical procedures, but when it's done, the pain goes away, you forget about it, and you've done something you had to do.

Don't forget, the doctor is experienced at this and knows about the reactions that people have. If this were a big traumatic thing, people wouldn't have it done. It could save your health or your life, so don't back out because you're a little nervous. Don't you realized, you'll be a stronger person who knows more about facing down her fears and how strong she can be, once you're through it?

Good luck. Take deep breaths. Don't fear.

-Jeffrey

3. sugarmaggie

sugarmaggie ~Green Eyed Devil~

It's not bad at all sweetie. It's a little awkward the first time, but no worries. Don't let the speculum spook ya, it doesn't hurt. Just relax..:)

4. ihmurria

ihmurria fini