Martial Arts Training

Discussion in 'Random Thoughts' started by Revenant Phantasm, Dec 31, 2004.

1. Revenant Phantasm

Revenant Phantasm Member

I have been thinking of taking some martial arts training, but I want to know if it would be worth it, and what would be a very strong solid style to learn. What are your opinions on this, I got to green belt in kenpo and yellow in generic karate.

2. KozmicBlue

KozmicBlue Senior Member

I think my opinion might be a bit biased (seeing as I've been doing thaiboxing for about five years and I love it), but thaiboxing (or Muay Thai) is said to be the most efficient martial art there is. It's about controlling your body as well as your mind and there's a variety of techniques... Ummm. I dunno what else to tell you. If you have any questions about thaiboxing, feel free to ask. :)

3. Revenant Phantasm

Revenant Phantasm Member

Is muay thai more on the offense or defense?

4. KozmicBlue

KozmicBlue Senior Member

I don't think it really separates those two. Most self-defence systems are different from martial arts, but it doesn't mean martial arts would be all about offence... Maybe you should ask Lodui though, he's more pro than I am when it comes to muay thai. :D Ohh, and check out www.muaythai.com There's interesting stuff about the history. :)

5. Revenant Phantasm

Revenant Phantasm Member

i want something to really hurt people, something powerful

6. Goatman88

Goatman88 Member

street fighting

7. KozmicBlue

KozmicBlue Senior Member

Well with that attitude... I hope no instructors are gonna let you train in their gym. :mad:

8. Goatman88

Goatman88 Member

or try pro wrestling...lol no dude seriously thats not what any type f real training is about at all. I took tae kwon do for 4 years and its definately not meant to just hurt people.

9. fitzy21

fitzy21 Worst RT Mod EVAH!!!!