males in yoga classes

Discussion in 'Yoga and Meditation' started by nudistguyny, Feb 12, 2020.

1. nudistguyny

nudistguyny Senior Member

I have started going to yoga classes in my area. I have tried different formats of yoga and have decided what I am looking for is a slower stretching type format I have found a couple of classes that meet what I am looking for. My question is why does it seem that a single male is frowned upon. Or at least that is the feeling that I get from the class. If you show up with a female partner it seems acceptable. But to be alone every one seems to be on a defensive mode. I am not doing anything creepy. I am just doing the class. Any ideas?

DrRainbow likes this.
  2. nudistguyny

As a newbie I tend to set my mat closer to the back of the class so that I can follow the poses easier. Taking the lead from those around me. I am not staring at other people. I am more concerned about body positioning and making sure that I am in the right pose etc. I keep to myself and try not to interfere with the people around me. Some people are helpful with suggestions are far as the poses go. But I still feel that there is like a wall between me and others for some reason. I shower before I go. I wear clean clothing ever time I go. I just do not understand it.

3. I'minmyunderwear

I'minmyunderwear Newbie

my guess would be that other single guys have in the past. but i don't really know.

Eric! likes this.
  4. Vanilla Gorilla

Vanilla Gorilla Go Ape

Lolz, bullshit you don't understand

5. parua

parua Members

^^^^exactly what I was thinking

6. nudistguyny

Okay what is it that I do not understand? The fact that I tend to have one row of people in front of me, that makes me creepy? The instructor does not do the poses with the class. So without taking a que from others what the poses are I admit that I am lost.

7. Tyrsonswood

Tyrsonswood Senior Moment Lifetime Supporter

I would be seriously lost if I was anywhere near a yoga class....