Is animism what you make it?

Discussion in 'Animism' started by beyoung623, Sep 21, 2012.

1. beyoung623

beyoung623 Guest

I am new to animism as a spiritual practice. I can't say I know much about it yet, only that it's what comes closest to my idea of my spirituality and connection with the world. And that must be enough for now, because I just want to learn more and more. I'm looking for a community to whom I can come with questions and experiences. Anything someone think I should know for the first leg of this journey?

2. themnax

themnax Senior Member

"animism" is a word, made up by humans. has nothing to do really with any of the diverse and distinct perspectives, swept together for arbitrary convenience, nor realities of the spirit behind them.

truth is not hiding behind a tree. communities are for emotional support, but they are also places to hide from what is not hidden, though it may remain unseen.

eyes open, and empecible self honesty, and a kind of sincere resiliance to self injury in its persuit.

3. beyoung623

beyoung623 Guest

Hi, can I ask you a question? You may know what to do, you seem like a mentor type. What does someone do if their spirit animal is being threatened by others and those who are threatening it are your superiors in a work setting? Because having anxiety sure doesn't help.

4. windy

windy Member

Your "spirit animal" can't be threatened by others. Maybe you feel threatened by others?

5. beyoung623

beyoung623 Guest

That makes sense. But I work at a children's science museum, and one of my superiors catches and keeps insects on display, basically letting them starve to death for the pleasure of the guests. Spider is my spirit animal. He catches a lot of spiders. When he does, I let them go. The other day he caught a beautiful black widow and two days later she was still sitting on his desk. Alive, thankfully.