Irritating preachers

Discussion in 'Philosophy and Religion' started by John221, Aug 15, 2005.

1. John221

John221 Senior Member

Outside the shopping centre (or mall, to all you US dudes) in my hometown there is a Christian man who sometimes stands and preaches from the Bible at the top of his lungs, trying to show people the right way to salvation through Christ. Which is fair enough, he believes in something special, so let him preach it.

However...

During a recent shopping visit, I walked past the preacher, and his friend was standing near-by handing out leaflets. I realised at once that I knew his friend; a guy called Bill with whom I sometimes sit in my favourite coffee shop.

He knows that I'm a musician, and so he's usually bugging me to come and play the hymns at his church, even though he knows that I'm a Buddhist.

Anyway, Bill stopped me for a chat and handed me one of his leaflets entitled "How To Be Saved And Know It."

Much to my dismay, he then began to tell me how misguided my current beliefs are, and how the only possible way to salvation is through the Bible and Jesus Christ, who he assured me will be returning soon.

He told me, I should go to church and pray to Jesus because I'm a nice young lad and he doesn't want to see me "going down the wrong way." I smiled and nodded a lot, untill I could walk away.

I just wondered, would it really be so unreasonable for everyone to decide their own beliefs, without constantly having the Bible shoved up their noses, being told that they're wrong and that they'll burn in Hell for it?

Some of you guys must have had similar kinds of experiences, and feelings about it. Let me know what you think.

2. iscreamchocolate

iscreamchocolate Senior Member

yes I think thats so stupid! If you push your religion on someone then it can just drive that person further and further away... and you can't push your religion on someone who doesn't want it.