inexpensive communes

Discussion in 'Communal Living' started by music321, Jun 27, 2013.

1. music321

music321 Guest

Hi, all.

I am in a rather unique situation. I am physically disabled. I am far healthier than I used to be, but still disabled. I was injured in an auto crash, and am in the process of healing. What I most need is an environment that is not psychologically toxic in which to live and heal.

As a result of not being able to pay rent for that long in most of america, or not being able to contribute fully as an able-bodied person would be able to, I find myself trapped in a toxic living situation. I believe that by staying in this situation, I am hampering my recovery to a large degree.

A commune/living situation that required perhaps $200/month to rent, and is preferably (though not necessarily) not in an urban environment would be ideal.

I would contribute through labor to the best of my ability. I have a biology degree, and once was called upon as a consultant during the design of a water-purification apparatus on a commune (which is female only; which is why I'm not there now- I'm male).

I've considered going to India, as the rent is cheaper than in the U.S. Firstly, I don't know how well I'd cope with a 14 hr plane ride. Secondly, I don't know that an urban environment in India would be for me. And frankly, I know nothing of the Indian countryside. I wouldn't want to find myself in a lonely place, either.

Any suggestions would be great. Something within the U.S. or Canada would be preferred, but I'd go anywhere on the planet.

Thanks.

2. PiscesCub

PiscesCub Member

What kind of disabilities do you have, if you don't mind my asking?

3. music321

music321 Guest

Yeah! A reply! I have mainly muscular problems which lead to difficulty standing/sitting for extended periods. At several points throughout the day I have to lie down and rest. I can walk only about 1/2 mile and lift only about 20 lbs max.

4. Vincent2012

Vincent2012 Perpetual Smiler