I Am New To The Pill. How Important Is The Time I Take The Pill And The Pause When On The Period?

Discussion in 'Birth Control' started by jodiebaxter, Dec 12, 2016.

1. jodiebaxter

jodiebaxter Members

Hi,

I am new to the pill and am taking Diane 35. I have a few question that I hope you can help me out with:

1) How much can I deviate from the daily time I take the pill. Is plus/minus a few hours still ok? What is the maximum that is acceptable?
    2) After taking the pill for 21 days, then I stop taking it, and wait for my period. If let's say my period is over after 5 days, can I start with the next pack already? Or do I *have to* pause for exact 7 days?
    3) What should I do if on the 7th day after finishing a pack my period is not completely over, yet?
    4) Can I have sex in the 7 "pause" days between the packs? Will there be the same contraceptive protection?
    5) Assuming I become pregnant (for whatever reason). How soon will I notice that it happened? Will I still get my period in the 7 day pause of taking the pill? When will the period stop, or will it not stop when taking the pill even though there is a pregnancy?

Thank you : )

2. morrow

morrow Visitor

Do as the pack tells you, and you should be fine.

Obviously the same time of day taking the pill is better!

While it is never 100% about not getting you pregnant, it's Zero at protection for std,s! Don't leave yourself open to this!

Use condoms for the first 3 months, at least, and as often as is possible after that!

Once your into it, after 3 to 6 months, your 7 day break is protected too..

1 person likes this.
  3. Silverback64

Silverback64 Members

+1

4. jodiebaxter

jodiebaxter Members

Thank you!

You mention to use condoms for the first 3 months. I read the pill protection will be there after 7 days of starting to use it. Why do you suggest the 3 month wait?