How can Roman Catholics reject casual social nudity?

Discussion in 'Bare It! Nudism and Naturism' started by Ron Mo, Mar 18, 2021.

1. Ron Mo

Ron Mo Members

Considering the Roman Catholic church considers itself infallible, doesn’t the open plain depiction of nudity of God and mankind in the art of the Sistine Chapel, legitimize common, casual, social, and even godly nudity? That would seem to also include nudity when worshiping God.
    I am not an expert on the catholic church, but it seems logical.
    Your thoughts.

2. WOLF ANGEL

WOLF ANGEL Senior Member - A Fool on the Hill Lifetime Supporter

.... Because they are hypocrites?

3. I think your right

4. Bicaptain My Captain

Bicaptain My Captain Members

I couldn't care less.

5. scratcho

scratcho Lifetime Supporter Lifetime Supporter

I don't accept the basic premise of infallibility. Therefore, I don't believe a word they say.

6. Ron Mo

Ron Mo Members

I have been thinking, i know dangerous, but.
    I think the reason for nudity being accepted during the Sistine Chapel time and sorta banned today is the church following parts of society.
    But I think this brings up an opportunity to possibly enlarge the nudist/naturist community.
    If we look at the imagery of the Sistine Chapel and share that with our catholic friends, they may become more open to casual social nudity.
    Will it work, I don’t know, but may be worth a try.

7. nldn

nldn Senior Member

There are plenty of Catholics in Bavaria and Austria, where nude mixed spas are commonplace.

Very Fast Car, Granite69 and Ron Mo like this.
  8. ALAnonMan

ALAnonMan Members

Has the Catholic Church ever formally condemned casual nudity? I'm no expert, but I don't believe any official condemnations exist.