Hand Sanitizers

Discussion in 'You Are What You Eat!' started by HorseDocGurl, Feb 21, 2010.

1. HorseDocGurl

HorseDocGurl Member

This isn't really a food issue, but I think it fits under health. As someone who worked in some pretty dirty conditions as a large animal vet, I am really worried about the ramped up use of hand sanitizers and the less visible campaign to introduce quaternary ammonium compounds into more consumer products. These are basically that nasty smelling cleaner that only the school janitor had dispersed in a hand lotion.

First of all, these compounds loosely fall under the umbrella of biocides. Look at the Latin. They kill life. They problem is when we use these is they only kill bugs we know how to kill. And what's left? The ones we don't and all of the food. And then we wonder why people get sick.

On the other hand, if you use and enzymatic cleaner, it interrupts the food chain. And death is an equal opportunity for all bacteria. Good ones, Bad ones. Ones we don't know about yet.

So when it is time to clean up, soap and water goes a long way. Maybe a touch of bleach. And enzymes.

2. Logan 5

Logan 5 Confessed gynephile Lifetime Supporter

I just use soap & water. No reason to kill anything that can be removed.

3. deleted

deleted Visitor

ok..I worked in a hospital, and the biocides didnt help prevent the 3 staph infections I got while working there..

I work in filthy warehouse, greasy, manly, before than another warehouse, have not had a single case of staph since..

4. greenslime

greenslime Guest

I don't use that stuff either. I try to avoid good that are laden with chemicals, I really do TRY to avoid them. I shop at my local health food shops when my budget allows it.

5. DezDino

DezDino Member