Haite-Ashbury

Discussion in 'Old Hippies' started by TerminalMadness, May 19, 2004.

1. TerminalMadness

TerminalMadness Member

Hey,

I'm a newbie, and I'm a long time classic rock fan and I'd heard about Haite Ashbury for years.

My question is, has anyone ever really been there or seen it? If so, what's it like? Sorry to sound like a dingbat, but I'd really appreciate hearing about it. Thanks.

2. sassure

sassure Member

3. TerminalMadness

TerminalMadness Member

Wow, these links are great, man! Thanks for them! I'm going to look at them all. Thanks again, dude.

4. Micro

Micro Member

I went for a visit twice in 84 & 85. The first time it was cold and raining so I only spent an hour there. The second time I spent the day there and had the time of my life.

A friend who had been there in the late 70's said when he went it was seedy & run-down. But what I saw was a nice upper middle class business & residential district. There were still hippies but the scene was more diverse.

My visit was almost a religious experience. We got there and struck up a conversation with this nice older hippie lady in a coffee shop who gave us 2 hits each of blotter with palm trees on it. We started walking towards Golden Gate Park and I noticed a sign in front of a club saying John Cipollina from Quicksilver Messenger Service was playing tonight, so I knew I wanted to go.

Before we got to the park this hippie came up to me claiming he knew me. We got to talking and walked to this hill in the park where a bunch of people were hanging out and met a few. I had mention to this dude I had dropped some acid and it was starting to kick in. He said pfft!, and pulled out this container with green jell acid and gave us each a hit.