Founding Fathers and Religion...

Discussion in 'Politics' started by Jimbee68, Dec 12, 2017.

1. Jimbee68

Jimbee68 Member

Partly a rhetorical question, but a serious question too (since I am just learning these things myself), to the religious members on these boards. If the establishment clause to the US Constitution is of such minimal importance, why is it the opening words, to very first amendment, to a document we call the Bill of Rights?

OK, maybe I have got at least some of you thinking. Second question. If our founding fathers were so gungho about religion, esp. in public policy, why did they say so many things we today would call antireligious? Here, you can read some of them yourselves: 35 Founding Father Quotes Conservative Christians Will Hate

I do have to make an important distinction here. Our founding fathers certainly were not antireligion. I know I am not. As I said before, I think religion can have a very positive effect in people's lives. They were anti-ORGANIZED and established religion.

I know I am too. I believe in God, and still consider myself a relative Catholic. But I don't believe I am justified in imposing my beliefs (which are constantly evolving anyways) on others.

And remember, my questions are not just rhetorical. I really want people to justify their beliefs. After all, I could be wrong...

:) :) :)

2. Asmodean

Asmodean Slo motion rider

Not sure they were anti organized religion, just critical. They cared about it being seperated from secular state issues/government which is a subtilely different thing than being anti organized religion ;)

Last edited: Dec 13, 2017
  3. Noserider

Noserider Goofy-Footed Member

Religion is rigid; the Constitution is fluid. Unlike religion, the Constitution can be amended to always stay current with the times. I think the Founding Fathers were smart enough to understand this, hence why secularized government and religious institutions are kept separate.