Does any body like Vularity in songs?

Discussion in 'Performing Arts' started by Papillon, Jan 30, 2005.

1. Papillon

Papillon Member

Does any body like vulgarity in songs? Not sexist or racist shit but an occasional f...[​IMG] word talking about something passionate.

Also would like to know what people think of doodle songs. I have a stupid long wordy song that will never fix anything. It just sort of is cute at best. But I wrote it and it amuses people.

If you care to watch it just go to this url

[font=&quot]http://beadsongs.org/plastrchoice.htm
    [/font]

2. jesikhaviolet

jesikhaviolet Member

vulgarity in songs isn't really that great, even for passion. i'm a classical and blues writer/guitarist/singer/etc.. which doesn't often swear. classical lyrics tend to be more poetical than anything, and blues, if they need to be passionate, a mumbled word, a scream or a "LOOOOORD!!!" is what to use. once in a while is ok - like one swear word in every 10 songs +P

3. Papillon

Papillon Member

[​IMG]Hi jesikhaviolet
    WHat about Ani Difranco do you like her work?
    do you have songs online to listen to?

4. BraveSirRubin

BraveSirRubin Members

Vulgarity in music shows a rather strong lack of creative skills... unless the word is shown is such a way in which it represents strong emotion.

5. jesikhaviolet

jesikhaviolet Member

i dunno about ani difranco. care to enlighten me?
    unfortunately, no i don't. i can't find anywhere to host audio for free (i'm skint)

6. hailtothekingbaby

hailtothekingbaby Yowzers!

Swearing in songs is very unsophisticated, and I find it rather pointless. Besides, a well-placed "hail satan" fits so much better than "fuck".

7. Papillon

Papillon Member

[​IMG]Hello skint Ani Difranco
    http://www.righteous-babe.com/ani/
    I put my music on a web site I built. With mp3 and .wmv it is possible to compress audio files to a minimum. Upload files to a web server. Then you can use simple html.