Any tips for barefooting?

Discussion in 'Bare It! Nudism and Naturism' started by NotALabel, May 8, 2004.

1. NotALabel

NotALabel Member

Hi,
    I really want to go barefoot, but I've never done it outside of my garden before. It's not people seeing my feet that bother me (they're just feet...most people have got them!), its just that it's quite cold and rainy most of the time here in England, and there's always crap and broken glass and chewing gum and stuff all over the floor.

So does anybody have any tips as to how to get started? Any personal experiences you'd like to share? Anything you'd like to ask but I didn't bring up?

Thanks in advance :D
    Richard

2. pomunus

pomunus Member

I dont really know how you can solve the cold part. As for there being stuff all over I would just watch where you are going. It's not hard to keep an eye on the ground and an eye on where you are going. It might be hard at first but once you get comfortable with it you wont even notice. I dont really have much advice other then just do it and get the feel of it. It will get easier the more you do it. Dont give up when you get huge blisters on your feet and you think you will never be able to walk again without it hurting. They will heal and make your feet tougher. That's the way it happened with me anyways. Good luck!!!

3. barefootrick

barefootrick Member

Hi Richard,

I live in the UK as well and I quite agree that our crappy climate is not conducive to enjoyable all year round barefooting.

I do go barefoot pretty much all the time from around mid/late April to late September/October (Weather dependant of course) without a problem.

As Pomunus says, the best advice is probably 'just do it'. Over the course of the first two or three days you can practically feel your soles getting adjusted. Within a week or two you are practically walking on 'living leather' and nothing is going to get through & hurt you.