Any cottagecore lesbians?

Discussion in 'Lesbian' started by Purple44, Feb 25, 2021.

1. Purple44

Purple44 Members

I'm new to farming n got started now. It comes really natural to me. Anyone have a dream of living in your own world close to nature?

KathyL likes this.
  2. KathyL

KathyL Super Moderator Super Moderator

Hi, Purple44. Yes, I had that dream for many years. The closest I got to living it was 8 years my wife and I spent living on an island off the west coast of Canada. It was a natural hippie community - not an "intentional community", but lots of genuine hippies living there. We grew a lot of our own vegetables, and what we didn't grow ourselves, we bought from local organic farmers. We watered the garden with harvested rainwater - we had 4500 gallons of water storage, enough to see the garden through a long summer drought. Our house was in deep forest, with just an acre or two cleared for the house and garden. Being an island, there were beaches in every direction, mostly within walking distance.

scratcho likes this.
  3. Purple44

Purple44 Members

That sounds SO beautiful..what is the name of the island?

4. KathyL

KathyL Super Moderator Super Moderator

It was Denman Island.

Unfortunately, it is getting a bit gentrified these days. When we moved there, we bought literally the last house we could afford. A month later, real estate prices shot up and have stayed there ever since. It makes it hard for young couples with kids to move there, and low-income people, who are the backbone of the economy, working as cooks, cleaners, care-givers and gardeners, can't find rental accommodation. The ferry makes the cost of living high, and many residents can't afford to commute into town, where there are more, better jobs. You have to be self-employed, because there are no job opportunities.