Adhd

Discussion in 'Parenting' started by Sweet pea ky, Mar 16, 2008.

1. Sweet pea ky

Sweet pea ky Member

Hey needin help with my 7 year old. The Dr said that he has ADHD, and wants me to give him aderol. I have some problems with this. But he gets really mad sometimes, he screams and throws fits I'm afraid that he is going to get hurt. I also have a 4 year old girl, and he constantly tries to fight with her. I have always stressed that I dont aprove of violence. And I just recently had another baby boyt. Any suggestions?

2. Bumble

Bumble Senior Member

First off, your child does NOT need meds, regardless of what doctors say. I'm an ABA instructor. I work under a Behaviorist. You can use easy behavior interventions to get your son to behave. I like token economies, which basically means the child needs a certain amount of tokens to get a backup reinforcer. Tokens can be stars, coins, etc... Backup reinforcers have to be something that the child absolutely likes. I use gluten-free cookies or time on the computer when I work with my clients. Only award acceptable behavior. Remind him of what acceptal behavior is and that you only give tokens to him if he has this acceptable behavior. Make sure that the tokens are easily viewable to your son. I have to go to work right now, but when I return I will post the research that backs Applied Behavioral Analysis for individuals with ADHD because your son could potential get hours of ABA through the school district without any charge to you. They don't tell you these things. Instead, they promote meds because it is the "easy" way. Good luck!

3. Bumble

Bumble Senior Member

Also, have you heard about gluten-free diets? A lot of the clients I work/ed with are on it and it works wonders. Try providing opportunities for sensory input (bouncing on trampolines, body socks, rice bins, exercise balls, etc...) I still have to go through my email for that article on ABA and ADHD.

4. Sweet pea ky

Sweet pea ky Member