a bunch of bullogna

Discussion in 'All in the Family' started by Poem~Girl, Jun 26, 2006.

1. Poem~Girl

Poem~Girl Member

just to get a background about me i'm in my 1st year of SSW and i work with handicapped children. So please don't take what i'm going to say the wrong way..
    This chapter was about marriage: this is a statement someone made that struck me
    Every human being should be presumed to have these rights unless someone can show an almost certain probability of disastrous consequences if he excerises them. If this becomes the *test* it should apply to retarded alike. An even more fundamental legal principle which also demands a revision of the legal approach toward the mentally disabled is that of the individulization... There appears to be little legal justification for laws now on books which deny persons with mental disabilities an entire set of rights on one ominous finding of "incompetency" or mental retardation. What may be said of some does not apply to all. "Retarded people like all people" ( i like how they worded that ) ??? vary enormously in talent, aptitude, personality, achievement, and temperment. The law at present has no scientific or other basis on which to presume that any mentally retarded individual cannot do any or all things well. Each persons capacities must be judged individully before HE/SHE can be DENIED rights of citizenship or HUMANITY..

What the heck is the world coming down too? Aren't handicapped people HUMANS too??? blergh? (speechless) what are your opinions??? sorry that was so long

PG

2. stephaniesomewhere

stephaniesomewhere Member

that is a really really hard hard one to go into....
    the only solution I can think of is to treat each person as an individual and to deal with each situation as it arises...
    urgh...my brain is pinging in all the possible directions that the different sides of this argument could take and it just hurts!
    :(

3. Poem~Girl

Poem~Girl Member