What Do Brits Think Of The British Empire?

Discussion in 'History' started by PinkProlific, Mar 16, 2015.

1. PinkProlific

PinkProlific Members

If you're from the UK, what do you think about the British Empire, how much do you know about it, and do you believe it was primarily a positive or negative thing?

2. IMjustfishin

IMjustfishin Member

i think the whole concept of a king and queen is just silly nowadays. they are not even particularly needed in the UK, they're just there for show. Americans would be outraged!!lol

3. wiccan_witch

wiccan_witch Senior Member

I did a lot of study of British colonialism at university. What I studied was tragic and disgraceful. British practices of land purchase, forced assimilation to British culture of the indigenous people not to mention their languages effectively being banned in many cases and being forced to English...results are still being seen today. I'm from New Zealand, and the Maori people here have a huge amount of hurt and grievance. Australian Aborigines have it even worse. Australia was settled under 'Terra nullus' meaning that there were no other people there so the land was free for settlement by the British...when of course it wasn't. India was completely stripped of its natural resources and reduced to poverty by the time the British left. As someone of British ancestry I can honestly say I'm ashamed when I think of Britain done around the world in the name of Empire.

4. BlackBillBlake

BlackBillBlake resigned HipForums Supporter

Many of the features of the empire are regrettable. Slavery, which you didn't mention being one of the worst things, and a primary source of wealth for the colonialists.

The way in which indigenous cultures were treated was appalling, in Africa, Australasia and many other places, America of course being another example.