Anthropology student in search of answers.

Discussion in 'Hip Communities' started by studentculture, May 4, 2020.

1. studentculture

studentculture Members

Hello everyone! I am a cultural anthropology student and I am researching subcultures and I have a few questions about being part of the hipster community. Answers to the following questions are much appreciated. Any answers that I use will be anonymous in my research.

Questions:

1. What does being (a) hipster mean to you? And do you consider yourself a "hippie" or is that a whole other type of subculture than a what is considered hipster.

2. It seems as though the definition of what a hipster is changes with the times, what are some ideals and values that are shared among most hipsters?

3. What stereotypes do you think are associated with hipsters, and are they accurate? Why or why not?

4. Do hipsters share political, religious, art, or customs or is everyone diversified?

Thank you!

TanekRune likes this.
  2. soulcompromise

soulcompromise Member HipForums Supporter

Questions:

1. What does being (a) hipster mean to you? And do you consider yourself a "hippie" or is that a whole other type of subculture than a what is considered hipster. I think there's a big difference between the "hipster ethos" (not the starbucks water... lol) and being a "hippie". Anyone can be either, in my own opinion, but being a hippie is better. :D You have taken sex, drugs, and rock'n'roll to a whole other level with the latter, incorporating it into your every move, philosophy, spirituality, politics... they all take a backseat. Being a hipster possibly just means you wear sandals when you shop at Trader Joe's; which is fine. But it's not the same thing to someone who has put lots of time and energy into living a dream.