Jobs For Hedonists

Discussion in 'Hedonism' started by TheSamantha, Jun 25, 2016.

1. TheSamantha

TheSamantha Member

I think a hedonistic job would be one that's fun of course. I would prefer one that's social. If I have to take one that's boring, I would try to find a way to make it fun, like by eating a good lunch, listening to YouTube while filing let's say, or if I'm an uber driver let's say, chat with the customer or listen to the radio or use Facebook or something, etc. If I'm dirt poor and have to do drudgery like scrubbing toilets, then hopefully I don't have to work long hours to make ends meet, but can have some time off for leisure.

For me, an ideal job is one that allows me to express my creativity. I love my teaching job for that reason. Also one that lets me use my brain, something that occupies my mind and is stimulating. :)

Is your job hedonistic? How so?

1 person likes this.
  2. Mustangguy

Mustangguy Members

For me my Job was... I am retired now. I like anyone did not always want to get up in the morning, but not one day of my 28 years did I dread going to work and a good part of the time I looked forward to it. I think it's about the person and what they like it's not about the job it's self. I was a Firefighter !

1 person likes this.
  3. TheSamantha

TheSamantha Member

That's awesome. You must have really helped people too.

I agree that it's depends on the person. Some people prefer camaradie, others prefer computers, etc. The hedonist makes the job. You create your own experience.

1 person likes this.
  4. Vanilla Gorilla

Vanilla Gorilla Go Ape

I think you need to tell us what YOUR definition of hedonism is

Kind of sounds like you just want to boink your co-workers

The definition that comes off the net - engaged in the pursuit of pleasure; sensually self-indulgent.

Apart from pastry chefs or sex workers, which other jobs would be about the pursuit of pleasure or sensually self indulgent?

5. Mustangguy

Mustangguy Members