Vegetable Gardening - where to start?!

Discussion in 'Gardening' started by wiccan_witch, Dec 8, 2012.

1. wiccan_witch

wiccan_witch Senior Member

I am starting to really get interested in the idea of growing my own food. I am a complete novice at this, but I am hoping some of you guys might be able to help me out with either some websites which are good or some books that might be handy - if you want to post some advice on here too, that would be great!

What I'm mainly looking to know is -

What are some good veges to start off with that are fairly idiot proof - growing wise?

What tools should I invest in?

How long does it normally take to have a fully fledged vege patch?

Thanks so much. :)

2. I'minmyunderwear

I'minmyunderwear Newbie

i forget where you live. basically, location is the main issue though when deciding what to grow and when to grow it.

i've never grown a veggie that i would consider difficult to grow. i know living with my parents, we grew corn, beans, peas, asparagus, carrots, radishes, and tomatoes every year, and several other things on occasion. all of them had basic instruction on the seed packets that pretty much covered everything you needed to know about growing each plant. that was in northern ohio, usa.

for the most part, it only takes one summer to have a fully fledged garden. certain plants are better after a few years, but everything i've dealt with will give you something by the end of year one.

as far as tools, just the basic, obvious stuff. a shovel, a hoe, something for watering, something for weeding, a rototiller if you can afford it. a garden doesn't require anything too fancy.

3. AmyBeachGirl

AmyBeachGirl Member

Vegies need good sun, aged manure and good drainage. You can grow Winter Vegies and/or Summer Vegies.

4. jamgrassphan

jamgrassphan Get up offa that thing Lifetime Supporter