Help a hippy brother out!

Discussion in 'Activism' started by Sawyer, Jan 28, 2011.

1. Sawyer

Sawyer Member

Please visit http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/hippygocoastguard/ to sign on your support for the following:

To whom it may concern:

My name is Soren S. Powell and I am seeking an officer commission in the United States Coast Guard as I have a bachelor's degree in Biological/Environmental Engineering from the University of Maryland. Some people join the military in response to a Pearl Harbor or 9/11 type of national moment. The BP oil spill of 2010 was like a 9/11 moment for me, crystalizing my desire to join the Coast Guard. I was even named for my great-great-grandfather, Soren Carlsen, a 19th-Century Norwegian immigrant and Captain in the USCG.

However, I have non-denominational religious views that prevent me from cutting my dreadlocked hair, be vaccinated, or engage in law enforcement of federal marijuana laws as marijuana is my sacrament. By signing this petition, the undersigned understand and support my effort to join the USCG with special exemptions from haircuts, vaccines, and orders to participate in marjuana-targetted law enforcement operations. Precedent for the haircuts exemption has already been granted to members of the Sikh faith. The First Ammendment to the Constitution protects the freedom of religion of all Americans, including hippies such as myself.

Soren Powell

2. Michael Phelps

Michael Phelps Am I being detained?

[​IMG]Welcome to Hip Forums! Good luck!

3. scratcho

scratcho Lifetime Supporter Lifetime Supporter