Unions in the workplace.. union workers...

Discussion in 'People' started by We_All_Shine_On, Jul 13, 2004.

1. We_All_Shine_On

We_All_Shine_On Senior Member

Alright, i hope i dont offend anyone who is in a work unionon here (lol) but, does anyoen else think unions are out dated?
    I mean, they dont really serve a purpose, and alot of workers get fucked over BY THE UNION lol defeating the whole purpose... I think unions were a good idea, but aren't now.
    how do you feel about people in unions and they way they are treated?

2. backtothelab

backtothelab Senior Member

I think unions are great. when everyone in a skill class(say, electricians), is in the union, then a company is forced to take workers from than union. Yeah, it's a little mean, but it keeps us working and lets us have good wages and medical/dental plans, stuff like that. How is the union a bad thing?

3. thehipsterdufus

thehipsterdufus Member

there's good and bad sides to unions

I am a union electrician, and I joined the union because they paid for my school (in exchange for 5 years minimum service) and most of all for the pension and centralized benefits (if I change contractors, my benefits don't change, nor does my pay rate)

on the other hand, work is slow right now, so if I got laid off, I would have to go back to the hiring hall and get on the work list, instead of answering an add in the paper, etc. If I get caught working for a non-union contractor, I can be brought up on breech-of-contract charges, among other things.

I think for trades, unions are great, but sometimes in manufacturing and related businesses, unions can be used to coddle sub-par workers, which I don't like.

just my 2/100 of a dollar

4. knittin.pretty

knittin.pretty Banned

In my experience, unions are a bit outdated, and often unfair to workers with the exception of a few.

5. SunLion

SunLion Lifetime Supporter Lifetime Supporter