1 week

Discussion in 'Amsterdam' started by Rasputin, Jul 25, 2005.

1. Rasputin

Rasputin Member

only one week until i arrive in amsterdam, are there any mistakes of yours that i can learn from?

2. sgcollins

sgcollins Visitor

ok i'll start. don't tip too much or bartenders and waiters will think you're an idiot like me. look both ways all the time, especially when you're crossing, or you might step into a bicycle path at the wrong moment. if you're relying on public transit to get home, remember the trams stop running shortly after midnight. don't forget to stop and look up at the buildings. also see http://www.postwarmedia.nl/amsterdam.html ... enjoy yourself and have a sweet trip.
    who's next?
    love
    s g collins

3. guest1234

guest1234 Visitor

you suck for saying that about the tips. i work as a waitress, and the best tips i get are from foreigners. we may look at you weird simply because were surprised, not because were unhappy, k?

4. NEMISIS

NEMISIS GONE

There are loads of things to look out for when visiting A'dam, such as:-
    You will walk loads and loads and loads, be warned, if you don't hire a
    bike or use trams, by the end of your holiday you will be aching.
    Always inspect the weed your buying and make sure they weigh it
    infront of you, tip and use the free rolling papers provided.
    SGCollins is correct about walking into bike lanes, I can pretty much
    guarantee you will get in the way of itleast a few bikes.LOL
    Lager and weed around the RLD is a little more expensive than deeper
    into the city, get some duty free.
    Keep your camera lens away from the window girls and avoid all street
    dealers in this area also.
    Personnaly, although I have done it, don't buy weed from the tourist
    orrientated coffeshops, very much a ''hit or miss'' affair.
    Finnaly don't waste your holiday hanging around the RLD too much
    there are so many other things to do in the city.
    Have a good one Rasputin