Your Reason For Doing Crafts

Discussion in 'Fashion and Crafts' started by Kastenfrosch, Aug 23, 2005.

1. Kastenfrosch

Kastenfrosch Blaubeerkuchen!! Lifetime Supporter

Everyone has his/her personal reasons for making the things they do, and I want to know why!

Mine are:

The first one is probably because I have always done so. As far as I remember, I have always made stuff. As I grew older, I learned more and more professional techniques, I even have a journeyman's degree in ceramics. I knit, and I sew, as I grew up between balls of wool (grandma and mother both have woolstores).

Now, my first motive to make things, is that I put a lot of love in the things I make, as opposed to things that were industrially produced. I am a student of fine arts/art education, but in the long run, I want to use my teaching degree to make money, and to maybe even open my own store to sell things, that are made with love. But this is my dream so far. I can sell my jewlery and pots from time to time in my mothers store.

Another motive is, that it is extremely satisfying feeling to make stuff from almost nothing. The biggest wonder for me is that of pottery: you have almost plain earth, and using your knowledge in a wide range of subjects, like chemistry and physics, your artistic feeling, and the ability to use your hands, you can make the most beautiful things. And it is always a miracle, to open the kiln after the seconds firing, it always feels like christmas. You put your things in, and they are all in grey and brownish tones, after the firing, they come out in all sorts of beautiful colors!

2. stonerblond74

stonerblond74 Member

For me, there's definately a feeling of pride when I look at a finished piece and think about how it came to be, from raw materials to finished product.