Wife's illness and the unknown??

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by lovinglife101, Jun 25, 2019.

1. lovinglife101

lovinglife101 Members

First real post here and let me say from the start I am not good with words and writing. We are a couple in our early 50's and my wife had a brain tumor found in 2015. She did the extraction, radiation and chemo. She seemed to do fairly well with the mental part for what all they done. About 2 years later she went though some mild behavior problems of sneak smoking and sneaking out in the middle of the night to buy cigarettes. She quit smoking in 2013 and after I would catch her she would honestly say she didn't know why she was doing these things. We finally got some cognitive testing done and she was refereed to a psychiatrist. They started her on a low dose med to slow her brain down and it worked and things started getting better. In the last 4 months her brain seems to be unable to make decisions and she has no ability to do a thought process. It is now apparent she has a form of dementia and will need help the rest of her life. Her past memory is good but she just can't think things thru. We are faced with someone being with her most of the time as she has mild panic attacks when left alone for over a hour. We are now trying to find someone to live with us to help out with her and around the house. We have 4 horses and some land I love to take care of. She isn't ready to give up with life and I am not either How or where do you find someone that you can trust to come into your home. We don't have a lot of valuables but would like to keep what we got. There just don't seem to be anyone that wants a carefree life that is honest. Any advise on bringing a person into your home would be greatly appreciated.

2. Candy Gal

Candy Gal Lifetime Supporter

Your post was so touching.
    I am not much help as I live in the UK.
    We do have carers for such dilemmas as you face.