Why aren't there any degrees without essays?

Discussion in 'Higher Ed' started by Dragonvine, May 13, 2009.

1. Dragonvine

Dragonvine I do Glass

Fuckers.

I can't write for shit, and I'm petrified about my dissetation. I'm only in my first year at uni IN AN ART COURSE for fucks sake.

A ceramics course SHOULD NOT have essays. Bastards. I want to make stuff. I don't want to write.

2. caliente

caliente Senior Member

I understand what you're saying, but I think the idea is that being an "educated" person includes the ability to express yourself in writing. Otherwise, you could just go to a trade or specialty school.

When I was a student I said the same thing about math and foreign languages, which I'm terrible at. In my opinion, the ability to write is more useful and important than either of those. But I managed to get by, and now, 20+ years later, I have to say I'm glad I did. I'll bet that someday you will, too.

In the meantime, hang in there. Like marriage, a university degree means soooo much more than just the piece of paper. It will affect you the rest of your life.

3. blackcat666

blackcat666 Senior Member

i take it your in a conventional college, non-traditional colleges, will give you a degree baised on your creations with ceramics; it is a body of work, that shows you know the subject matter. traditional colleges are not the most innovative of instuitions!
    as for your term paper, find someone whom is a good proof reader and, ask them to help you improve your paper. pay them if you have too, or barter with them.
    i did that all through college.

4. Vana

Vana Member

Perhaps you should be a tad more read. Writing would be easier. I think the world would be better if people read more books. People are quickly falling into what could easily be described as illiterate.

And I should mention that there is a direct correlation between reading and better grammar.

5. SageDreamer

SageDreamer Senior Member