What's Next?

Discussion in 'The Future' started by HashtagInterested, Nov 14, 2019.

1. HashtagInterested

HashtagInterested Members

A forest and a garden or a career doing something I truly enjoy? A balance between the two would be brilliant, but the how to unknown.

I'm a writer, photographer, painter type artist in the making who want/needs a forest and a garden too. I could go alone but then I wouldn't enjoy painting or photography as much then, but I'd still get the forest and garden. The remedy is easy, but the how to isn't.

2. wilsjane

wilsjane Nutty Professor HipForums Supporter

When I was at college and studying to become a doctor, I took a part time job at the local cinema to pay the bills. Not wanting to sell popcorn, I blagged my way into the projection rooms and one Saturday when the projectionist did not arrive for work, they had no option than to let me run the films.
    20 minute rolls of film to be shown in the correct order, open carbon arc-lamps requiring the correct electrodes every reel change and 2.000 people the other side of a sheet of glass, it was terrifying, but somehow I got through.

The call of the cinema was just too great and I ended up as the chief engineer of the Odeon chain a few years later.
    Working with the directors and engineers of all the film at the height of cinema popularity fulfilled my dreams. During the following 50 years, I ran 14 Royal film performances, designed facilities at several major film studios and spent 7 years designing an award winning theater.

It was not all a bed of roses, particularly during two recessions, but having chartered as an engineer, I spent the first recession designing equipment for Heathrow airport and on the second one I returned to cardio-thoracic surgery, where my engineering experience was invaluable in fast-beating the heart (to reduce arterial blood-flow) without the need to stop the heart during TAVI procedures,