What Do Most Great Musicians Have In Common?

Discussion in 'Musicians' started by Motion, Dec 13, 2018.

1. Motion

Motion Senior Member

When you look at musicians like a Jimi Hendrix with the electric guitar and Charlie Parker with the saxophone. What are some things you think these types of musicians had in common that helped them to play their instruments in ways that was different from others?

DrRainbow and The NY Haus like this.
  2. soulcompromise

soulcompromise Member HipForums Supporter

I'm not great, but I will say this (in so far as that, at least for the last semester, I'm studying music): practice. I think that what makes a person really stand apart is the amount of time they are willing to devote to their instrument/s.

Manw3Brains likes this.
  3. Ged

Ged Tits and Thigh Man.

It is said that it takes 10.000 hours practice to master an instrument.

Manw3Brains, The NY Haus and Orison like this.
  4. deleted

deleted Visitor

5. Irminsul

Irminsul Valkyrie

Like how many years at that?
    I picked up the air guitar naturally ;D

The NY Haus and Ged like this.
  6. Motion

Motion Senior Member

I agree with practice. But another thing I think some of these musicians have in common is curiosity. I think many innovators are very curious people. They like to experiment and go beyond the traditional way of doing something. I bet Jimi Hendrix was the type of kid who liked to take things a part to see what was inside them(curiosity). This mindset probably carried over into how he dealt with his guitar.

7. unfocusedanakin

unfocusedanakin The Archaic Revival Lifetime Supporter

The truly skilled in anything don't really need to taught they teach themselves. For example Hendrix did that with guitar and the guy fixing your computer probably built his own when he was 8. You either got it or you don't. And when you do go the innovation just flows.

8. Irminsul

Irminsul Valkyrie

or, there's apprenticeships.. you know, for the other 99%