Waldorf Schools?

Discussion in 'Parenting' started by paix, Dec 30, 2004.

1. paix

paix Senior Member

ok, so I'm not a parent, but a teacher looking for input.

I'm a assistant teacher in pre-school right now, and will be certified to teach in a private pre-school by the end of this coming semester. I was think about ending it there, and just teaching pre-school, but a few people have told me they thought I should look into teaching at a waldorf school.

If I did it, I would focus in early childhood, since that's the age I like best, but before I commit to spending 2 more years in school, I wanted to know if any of you parents had any opinions or information on waldorf schools. Have you had any expieriences, good or bad, with them?

any info is much apreciated, I have looked at thier web site and will soon be calling for an information packet, but I wanted first hand information if at all possible.

Thank you all, blessings :)
    Molly

2. busmama

busmama go away

Hi Molly, Waldorf schools are really good I think. We wanted to put Al in one but decided to homeschool because it was too far away!!!! You would be an excellent teacher, I know you have the patince for it.

3. Applespark

Applespark Ingredients:*Sugar*

I dont have info for teachers but we have a waldorf school in our neighborhood and I would love my son to go there it s just...too expensive

4. nimh

nimh ~foodie~

Applespark~have you looked into scholarships? our local waldorf school has a sliding scale for people who qualify.

There are a lot of things that i absolutely love about waldorf, and a few things that i have reservations with, but all in all, it's the best alternative around here, and as long as he doesnt hate it (and i dont see that he would), my child will be going to a waldorf school. :D

5. paix

paix Senior Member

thanks for your replies guys :)

Busmama, thank you for your confidence in my abilities, it means so much to me!