uninformed, could use some help

Discussion in 'Psychedelics' started by realiseddreams, May 12, 2004.

1. realiseddreams

realiseddreams Member

What kind of drugs would medically be considered "hallucinogenic"/cause visions? If anyone who knows firsthand could give me an account of their experiences with trips on these, I'd appreciate it. I'm specifically interested in knowing about shrooms and opium, whether they belong in the same category or not. Also, what types of drugs were popular in the 60's and 70's with the early hippies, aside from weed? I'm currently trying to research for a story I want to write. I have no personal experience with drugs though. I'd like to be accurate, do the story justice, as well as those who inspired it. I am not trying to make a mockery out of anyone, and I'm not going to judge, so please don't worry about that.

2. eat_some_LSD

eat_some_LSD Senior Member

3. Fractual_

Fractual_ cosmos factory

drugs that would go under hallucinogenic would probably be :salvia divinorum, acid, mushrooms, and some other chemicals i am not too familiar with.

first hand experiences can be seen at the site mentioned above.

the drugs popular in the 60's were pot, speed, acid(this was the big one), and mushrooms. im sure there was more, but these were the big ones.

4. nesta

nesta Banned

the "classic" psychedelics are generally considered to be mescaline, peyote (a kind of cactus containing high quantities of mescaline, and just enough other related chemicals to make the trip different from straight mescaline), LSD, psilocybian mushrooms, psilocin, DMT/ayahuasca, and arguably AMT (aka IT-290...used quite a lot among the merry pranksters)

other psychedelics and "psychedelic" stimulants may include the 2C- series of phenelthylamines, Amanita muscaria mushrooms, MDA and related drugs (such as MDMA), Salvia divinorum, DPT, AET, LSA, DXM (if you consider it a psychedelic...i don't really), nutmeg, ibogaine, datura, AL-LAD, and so on.