The importance of fantasy book cover art?

Discussion in 'Fantasy Books' started by MarkH, May 19, 2007.

1. MarkH

MarkH Member

Hi everyone,

I’m very happy to say that I’ve just had my debut novel published and would love to swap thoughts and opinions on what makes a compelling read. With this in mind, what do you think attracts a potential reader? Would it be the front cover like mine below or is it more likely to be on the strength of the synopsis? Just how important is the cover art and what really determines our decision to invest the time to actually sit down and read a book? As a new author, I feel these questions are very important, so any insights you can give will be greatly appreciated.

[​IMG]

2. Ghost-in-the-Snow

Ghost-in-the-Snow Banned

I usually use the cover art as a preliminary judge...but often even after seeing a cover I don't like I read the synopsis. After all it only takes a minute and why miss the chance of reading a good book?
    I've read long running series where the style of cover art changes throughout the writing, or read books by authors who I like but have published with a different art style, and sometimes I don't like them, but they're by authors I love, and are brilliant books...so...on the whole I don't think the cover art is TOO important.
    I think though for a casual reader, someone who doesn't read many books in a year, cover art can be a bigger factor. They only choose a few books, so even if there are two that sound good, they will only buy one...that most likely decided by the cover art. So...yeah, it's fairly important. But the synopsis is more so.

Anyway, that's just my opinion.

Congrats on the book publishing! If I see it (and like the synopsis) I'll be sure to pick up a copy. =D
    Nice cover art by the by.

3. MarkH

MarkH Member

Thanks for replying. I'd be really interested to hear your thoughts on my synopsis. If you do a search on Amazon, you should be able to find it!

4. Merry Mab

Merry Mab Member