Sunflower care?

Discussion in 'Gardening' started by tom, May 21, 2004.

1. tom

tom Member

So I posted about two months ago about growing sunflowers the coast. Ok, I churned up some misc. dirt stuff, bark chips, pine needles in with the sand that turned into my garden area. Threw on about 3 inches of potting soil, and planted a bunch of sunflower seeds, radishes seeds, and jalepeno seeds. The radishes and sunflowers are taking off like crazy, growing almost too fast I think. Is there anything a guy can do to ensure that the sunflowers will keep on trucking? Ways to keep them healthy? Recommended sunflower fertilizers/plant food? Not worried about the radishes as those are about to be plucked from the ground.

2. poor_old_dad

poor_old_dad Senior Member

I'm an organic farmer, mostly growing cooking herbs, tomatoes, peppers, and shiitake mushrooms. I have grown many sunflowers too, for bird feeding etc. I don't know for sure about there, but here, I do nothing. I plant them in spare spots with LOTS of sun and then just enjoy.

There's an old gardner's saying that I like, "May the bugs in your garden eat only the weeds."

3. tom

tom Member

Yup, after some trial and error, I decided leaving 'em alone is probably the best thing to do. I thinned them out a littler earlier. Tried replanting the ones I pulled out and they killed over. Not a loss though. The ones left look better. Can't wait until they start to flower. That'll be too cool

4. sugrmag

sugrmag Uber Nerd

Mine are like 3 ft tall right now. I had them as seedlings and put them in the ground about a month ago, and they just shot up. Unfortunately, I also have morning glories growing in the same area, and I have to constantly unwrap the morning glories from around my other plants. I don't have the heart to kill them because my daughter loves the flowers (so do I), but they are a hassle to try to direct towards the fence that I want them to grow around.

5. poor_old_dad

poor_old_dad Senior Member