Stretching.

Discussion in 'Body Modification' started by ItzJessI3itch, Apr 18, 2007.

1. ItzJessI3itch

ItzJessI3itch Banned

A few days ago I got some tapers and went from a 14g to an 8g... I know it prolly wasn't a good idea to go ahead and do the jump all at once... and I've had a little problem with bleeding... but it's 3 days later and the swealing and everthing is going away and there's normal healing going on with the "crust" and stuff like a normal pericing...

But what I was wondering was how long does something like that take to heal?

2. benotfree

benotfree Member

Well healing is different between each person. I've been stretching my ears for 6 years and now I'm up to 9/16ths, my ears take about 3-4 weeks to heal from a 1 gauge stretch, but the way you rushed it I'd treat it like a new piercing and not stretch for 6 weeks.

Considering that you know that it was a bad idea I'll just say this, a guy who works at the tattoo shop my boyfriend works at rushed all his stretching and his ear snapped in two, it's important that you take it slowly so the blood circulation is ruined.

Aside from that...post pictures!

3. wanderin_blues

wanderin_blues Banned

yes, treat it like a fresh piercing. dont go so fast! your ears should not bleed when you stretch

4. drumminmama

drumminmama Super Moderator Lifetime Supporter

a touch OT, but you folks will know this:
    why is it not a great idea to stretch with acrylic?
    sterilization problems or what?

as for the healing, I did a dumb jump with one skipped size and the difference was about a week of extra healing time.

5. stormyy

stormyy Member

Acrylic is a shitty material for body jewelry in general. It cannot be autoclaved, it scratches easily and is believed to leach chemicals with extended wear. It tends to irritate the skin.